News Release

Cisco Appoints Brian L. Halla, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of National Semiconductor Corporation, To Its Board Of Directors

SAN JOSE, Calif., January 17, 2007 - Cisco today announced
Jan 17, 2007

SAN JOSE, Calif., January 17, 2007 - Cisco today announced the appointment of Brian L. Halla, Chairman and CEO, National Semiconductor Corporation, to its board of directors effective January 17, 2007.

"We are delighted that Brian Halla has decided to join the Cisco board," said John Chambers, Chairman and CEO, Cisco. "Brian brings a wealth of international experience and a broad perspective, which will be beneficial to our long-term growth strategy and global expansion."

Halla, 60, served as Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of National from the time he joined National in May 1996 until the beginning of National's 2006 fiscal year. He is now Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of National. He came to National from LSI Logic Corporation where he was Executive Vice President of LSI Logic Products. He had also held positions at LSI Logic Corporation as Senior Vice President and General Manager, Microprocessor/DSP Products Group and Vice President and General Manager, Microprocessor Products Group. Prior to that, he was with Intel Corporation for 14 years, where his last position was Director of Marketing for Intel's Microcomputer Group. Mr. Halla currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Semiconductor Industry Association. Halla is a graduate of the University of Nebraska where he earned a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering.

With the election of Halla, Cisco's board now consists of 11 members, including: Carol A. Bartz, Executive Chairman, Autodesk, Inc.; M. Michele Burns, Chair and CEO, Mercer Human Resource Consulting LLC; Michael D. Capellas, Senior Advisor, Silver Lake Partners, Larry R. Carter, Senior Vice President, Office of the President, Cisco Systems, Inc.; John T. Chambers, Chairman and CEO, Cisco Systems, Inc.; John L. Hennessy, Ph.D., President, Stanford University; Richard M. Kovacevich, Chairman and CEO, Wells Fargo & Company; Roderick C. McGeary, Chairman, BearingPoint, Inc.; Steven M. West, Founder and Partner, Emerging Company Partners; and Jerry Yang, Co-founder, Chief Yahoo! and Director, Yahoo! Inc.