News Release

Cisco and Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Sign Education MOU for Andhra Pradesh

Cisco Networking Academy Program to be offered in more than 250 Nonprofit Educational Institutes
Feb 23, 2006

HYDERABAD - February 23, 2006 - Cisco and Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, today announced that they had signed a Memorandum of Understanding to provide the Cisco Networking Academy Program in nonprofit educational institutions across Andhra Pradesh. As per agreement, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Colleges of Engineering in Hyderabad, Anantapur and Kakinada will be accredited as Regional Academies. These academies will further identify and accredit 250 nonprofit educational institutions as Local Academies under them within a period of two years. The academies will impart networking education to around 25,000 students every year.

"Andhra Pradesh is a pioneer in embracing Information Technology and its benefits for the development of the State and its citizens. Today's, MOU with Cisco reinforces that and will bring Internet Networking education to the students and provide them yet another avenue for technical and professional excellence. It will also assist our State in building a sustainable pool of talent equipped with critical IT and networking skills to meet and address the challenges posed by knowledge based economy," said Dr. K. Rajagopal, Vice Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University.

The Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU) will identify the academies for training of faculty.

"Cisco has always believed that the Internet and Education will be the two great equalizers of the next century, creating enormous opportunities for people and countries that succeed in harnessing the power of information and knowledge. India and the State of Andhra Pradesh in particular, have been early to realise this and it is evident in respect they have earned in the global IT services arena. Our collaboration with Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University and with the help of our channel partner Shell Networks, we will be able take networking education to the grass root level/lesser privileged students in the State," said Mr. U.R. Acharya, Vice President - Enterprise, Cisco.

Cisco will provide free web based curriculum and online course material of the Networking Academy Program, 24x7 technical support to all the non-profit educational institutions accredited and nominate a representative to aid in the implementation of the program. It will also implement the Cisco Networking Academy Quality Assurance Plan to maintain the highest quality of training and education at these institutions.

Currently, there are 131 Cisco Networking Academies across 21 states and 1 union territory in India & 24 in SAARC region. First launched in 1997, the Cisco Networking Academy Program is a global success with more than 10,000 academies across more than 150 countries worldwide. In the Asia-Pacific region Cisco has set-up over 1230 Academies catering to more than 88,354 students in the region.

About Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University

Under a broad policy framework of providing new technological education required for the industrial growth of the country in general and more particularly for the State of Andhra Pradesh, "Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University" was established on 2nd October, 1972, by an act of State Legislature. Rightly named after the ardent lover of Science and Technology, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, the University was established with the noble objectives of strengthening and improving the standards of Technological Education and making it relevant to the rural and industrial development of the country. Realizing that promotion of technical education was the imperative need of the hour, "JAWAHARLAL NEHRU TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY", the first technological university of India - was established in Andhra Pradesh with head quarters at Hyderabad. The singular objective by the way of emphasis on training & research in engineering and applied sciences. On its formation, the Government Engineering Colleges at Anantapur, Kakinada and Hyderabad, along with the Government College of Fine Arts and Architecture at Hyderabad, became its Constituent Colleges.